A thousand magazines vs heating bills

I’ve been looking at magazines to treat myself to this past few days. One problem I’m having is the bloody price of a lot of (foreign) magazines I’d be interested in. I’m all for supporting independent publishers and magazines, but I don’t think the US postal service needs my money that badly. For instance,

Annalemma : a great looking mag I’d love to get regularly, with a cool website with stories that makes you want more. The catch? It might be $25 for a year subscription (2 issues), or $5 for a back issue, but shipping to Ireland is an additional $24…

Tin House offers yearly subscriptions (4issues) for $24.95. Shipping is, well, $30.

I’ll get myself a year’s worth of the Dublin-based Stinging Fly, to be patriotic (well…), because I won’t have to pay mad postage but most of all because it’s a great magazine and I know I won’t be disappointed.

Leave a Reply

