“Late nights, he comes” in Liminal Stories

 

3425b-1475559955735

I’m a bit late posting this here, but hey, well, ahum. No excuse, really. It’s something I’m really proud of, though, a story that kind of doesn’t follow a traditional timeline, you know, with stuff like time going forward and events happening one after the other and all that stuff.

It’s also a story that features landscape in a big way, and I took great pleasure in casting the Monts d’Arrée, the Brittany mountains I often crossed as a child, and a significant place in Breton mythology.

Another aspect I tried to transcribe in English was the roughness, or round-aboutness, of the French my grand-parents use.

I was very happy with the illustration (by Tracy Durnell),  which brilliantly captures the duality of the story, and its darkness (extra kudos for the research into traditional dress, and the black and white that echos the Gwenn-ha-du, the B&W Breton flag…). This is Liminal Stories’ second issue, and in their short life they have managed to position themselves as a very serious and high-profile speculative fiction magazine. I can only encourage you to read everything they put out!

So have an old read, folks, and let me know what you think.

late-nights-tracy-durnell

Leave a Reply

